top of page

Ewing Sarcoma Killed my Little Brother

Childhood cancer…… How has that affected my life? It all started with a phone call from my brother Neal in Aug 2006. He said “Robyn the Dr’s say my pain is from a tumor in my arm. It is cancer and it has spread in other parts of my body.” That statement changed the course of my life and my whole family’s life. The next year was treatment after treatment. Then side effect after side effect. Hospital stay after hospital stay. Until the last hospital stay on July 19, 2007 at 11:50pm. Walking out of that hospital that next morning and knowing I would never see my brother again tore my heart out. Watching my little brother who was only 26 battle a childhood cancer called Ewing’s Sarcoma, was the single most difficult 11 months of my life. Neal was a fun-loving, happy, creative, smart guy. He loved his Mazda 6, Vegas, hockey, computers, star trek, and having a great time no matter what. I wish we could have saved Neal’s life. I wish he was still here to share in all the wonderful things happening in my life. He should be here to see me graduate from College in May. He should be here for all these wonderful life events. I don’t want other families to experience the loss of a sibling/ child ever again. I have watched many many kids battle childhood cancer some are survivors, some are in heaven and some are fighting for their lives as we speak. These kids/young adults should not have to fight for their lives at such young ages. Losing my little brother was and still is the hardest thing that I have experienced in my life. I miss him so much every day. So many do not understand that even though Neal was 26 his cancer was diagnosed as Ewing’s Sarcoma and that is a childhood cancer. Neal’s battle with cancer has brought me to the fight I fight every day. I fight for awareness. I fight for better treatments and cures. I raise money for research through organizing head shaving events through the St. Baldrick’s foundation. I want to put a stop to childhood cancer and my mission is to make that happen. I miss my brother Neal.

Neal Carmine 8/2/80- 7/19/07 Ewing’s Sarcoma -- Robyn Carmine 38yrs old and is a senior in college for teaching and all her free time is spent raising money for the St. Baldrick’s Foundation and she hopes to continue that fight till a cure is found. She live in Mesa, CO

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page